Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Music Review: India Irie - Testimony Vol 2.

India Arie – Testimony: Vol. 2, Love & Politics

1. "Intro: Grains"
2. "Therapy"
3. "Ghetto"
4. "Chocolate High" (feat. Musiq Soulchild)
5. "He Heals Me"
6. "Interlude: Grains"
7. "Pearls" (feat. Dobet Gnahore)
8. "River Rise"
9. "Yellow" (feat. Terrell Carter)
10. "Better Way"
11. "Interlude: Grains"
12. "Long Goodbye"
13. "Psalms 23" (feat. MC Lyte)
14. "The Cure" (feat. Sezen Aksu)
15. "Outtro: Grains"
16. "A Beautiful Day"

Tamara’s Take: Heavy Rotation

Released on Feb 10th, 2009 this is her 4th album and a follow-up to her last album Testimony: Vol 1., Life & Relationship. I have to be honest, while I have always enjoyed her radio singles, I have never really listened to any of India Arie’s albums after Acoustic Soul (her 1st). After listening to this album I have decided that I may need to revisit her last two albums.

The album is full of everything I love about music…enjoyable beats, exquisite lyrics and a wonderful flow. I love her metaphors and the way her words create a picture in your mind. Plus, I’m a sucker for a love song full of heartbreak and she does not disappoint.

Stand Out Tracks: Chocolate High, Long Goodbye

Songs on Repeat: Therapy, Better Way

Solid Tracks: Ghetto, He Heals Me, Pearls, River Rise, Yellow, A Beautiful Day

Skip: The Cure


Token Black Chick said...

That's good! I really expected that you wouldn't like it. I've been a little hesistant about India, sometimes her music is too preachy for my tastes (more A's speed), but there are always some good love songs. I'll have to check this out.

Anonymous said...

Free online watch hindi song, pop song, remix song watch and download.

best regards.